THE LUBERON

Our holiday gites are located in the heart of one of the nicest regions in France. Located away from the Rhône valley, with the mildness of the Mediterranean climate, Lubéron has kept its heritage throughout the centuries, as well as its genuine nature.

Le Village de Roussillon


A regional Natural Park since 1977, Lubéron cultivates its difference with the quality of its tourism services.

Its attractive villages (Bonnieux, Roussillon, Gordes, Ménerbes, Lourmarin …), its local produces and craft work make it a must for anyone wanting to spend unforgettable time in Provence.

If you are fond of rural architecture, you wont’ have enough time to discover the many villages built on hills.


Dating back to the Middle Age, many villages such as Gordes, Ménerbes and Oppède le Vieux were built on hills ; perched in narrow spaces, they often offer awesome view of surrounding landscapes.

Made up of various sceneries the region is marked by the presence of three significant ranges : the Petit and Grand Lubéron and the Monts du Vaucluse . Its various entities alternate plains and mountains, the joy of nature lovers seeking contrast-rich landscapes . The harmony of ochre colours and architectural shapes adds much to the enchantment of the place.

Yet one does not come to Lubéron only for its outstanding landscape or way of life:

EVENTS

Le Village de Gordes


TO DISCOVER


L'abbaye de Senanque

  • LAURIS : built on a rocky hill, Lauris and its castle overlook the Durance . The old village is an outdoor museum, to attentive visitors.

  • VENASQUE : nestling behind its walls, the old city of Vénasque will welcome you into the charm of its past.

  • OPPEDE LE VIEUX : the reputation of the old village of Oppède for its remains is complemented by its awesome view.

  • ROUSSILLON : a magical place where colour combinations burst into an infinite variety, Roussillon will show you the charm of its small streets, its ochre and craft work.

  • LUBERON et DURANCE : view from the village of Mallemort, the Durance runs south to the Lubéron mountain and adds its charm to the variety of the landscapes.

  • LOURMARIN : a peaceful and quite village in a haven of greenery. After being emptied of its inhabitants by diseases and ransacking, it relived in the XVth century when the local lord invited families from Vaud to cultivate the land and inhabit the deserted land.

  • SENANQUE : a Cistercian abbey built in a valley, in the middle of lavender fields . Foundered in 1148 by monks from Vivarais, the best season for discovering it is the end of spring when the lavender blooms.

  • MENERBES : surrounded by vines and greenery, that awesome little village nestles at the top of a hill, providing quiet and peace to the walker. A territory inhabited as far back as the Neolithic, continuously until the Middle Age. In the Roman era, several districts located at the bottom of the village had « villae », many remains of which have been found.

  • SAIGNON : a charming perched village running along the top of a hill, and one of Vaucluse’s “typical villages” . It distinguishes itself by its huge bell tower, and its church was, as far back as the Middle Age, a place of pilgrimage from all around Provence.

  • BONNIEUX : overlooked by its mid-roman, mid-gothic church, that small perched village of Lubéron overlooks the Combe de Lourmarin . Bonnieux is an old fortified village and was inhabited as far back as the Neolithic era and the age of bronze.

  • LES OCRES DE ROUSSILLON : the old open-sky quarries create landscapes of discreet and unique beauty. The Small Colorado is a must in Rustrel, an awesome set of fairy rocks, canyons and gorges carved by man and nature.

Les Carrières d'ocre

And many other sites that we leave you to discover. And if you want to know the atmosphere of a real market of Provence, go to the big market of APT which is held every Saturday morning.

BOOK HERE

LE LUBÉRON

Nos gites de vacances sont localisés au cœur de l’une des plus belles régions de France. Situé à l’ écart de la vallée du Rhône, bénéficiant de la douceur du climat méditerranéen, le Luberon a su préserver au fil des siècles son important patrimoine culturel et l’authenticité de sa nature.

Le Village de Roussillon


Parc Naturel Régional depuis 1977, le Luberon cultive sa différence dans la qualité de ses prestations touristiques.

Ses séduisants villages (Bonnieux, Roussillon, Gordes, Ménerbes, Lourmarin …), ses produits du terroir et son artisanat en font une valeur sûre pour qui veut passer un séjour inoubliable en Provence.

Si vous êtes passionné d’architecture rurale, vous aurez l’embarras du choix pour occuper votre séjour et découvrir le charme des nombreux villages bâtis sur des hauteurs.

Datant du Moyen-Age, de nombreux villages tels que Gordes, Ménerbes et Oppède le Vieux ont été construits sur les hauteurs ; perchés sur des espaces étroits, ils offrent bien souvent des vues magnifiques sur les paysages alentours.

Composé de différents reliefs, la région est marquée par la présence de trois massifs importants : le Petit et le Grand Luberon et les Monts du Vaucluse. Ses diverses entités font se cotoyer plaines et montagnes pour le bonheur des amoureux de la nature à la recherche de paysages riches en contrastes. L’harmonie des couleurs ocres et des formes architecturales ajoute à l’envoûtement des lieux.

Mais on ne vient pas dans le Luberon que pour ses magnifiques paysages ou sa douceur de vivre.

ÉVÉNEMENTS

Le Village de Gordes


À DÉCOUVRIR


L'abbaye de Senanque

  • LAURIS : construit sur un éperon rocheux, Lauris et son château dominent la Durance. Le vieux village est, pour le visiteur attentif, un musée à ciel ouvert.

  • VENASQUE : serrée derrière ses remparts, l’ancienne cité de Vénasque vous accueillera dans le charme de son passé.

  • OPPEDE LE VIEUX : la grande notoriété du vieux village d’Oppède pour ses vestiges est complétée par son formidable panorama.

  • ROUSSILLON : lieu magique où les combinaisons de couleur éclatent en une infinie variété, Roussillon vous fera découvrir le charme de ses ruelles, ses ocres et son artisanat.

  • LUBERON et DURANCE : vue du village de Mallemort, la Durance qui longe le sud de la montagne du Luberon ajoute son charme à la variété des paysages.

  • LOURMARIN : village paisible et tranquille dans son havre de verdure. Après avoir été vidé de ses habitants par la peste et les pillages, il revit au XVème siècle quand le seigneur des lieux fit venir des familles vaudoises afin qu’elles cultivent la terre et repeuplent cette région devenue déserte. Le château s’articule en 2 corps de bâtiment imbriqués par une tour carrée érigée dans le courant du XVème siècle.

  • SENANQUE : abbaye cistercienne construite au fond d’un vallon, au milieu des champs de lavande. Fondée en 1148 par des moines originaires du Vivarais, la plus belle saison pour la découvrir est la fin du printemps lorsque les lavandes sont en fleurs.

  • MENERBES : entouré de vignes et de verdure, ce magnifique petit village est blotti au sommet d’une colline, apportant sérénité et calme au promeneur. Territoire habité dès le néolithique, sans discontinuité jusqu’au Moyen-Age.
    A l’époque romaine, plusieurs quartiers situés au bas du village étaient parsemés de « villae » dont on a retrouvé de nombreux vestiges.

  • SAIGNON : charmant village haut perché s’allongeant au sommet d’une colline, il appartient aux « villages de caractères » du Vaucluse. S’il se distingue par la présence de son énorme clocher, son église fut dès le bas Moyen-Age un lieu de pèlerinage pour toute la Provence.

  • BONNIEUX : dominé par son église mi-romane, mi-gothique, ce petit village perché du Luberon surplombe la combe de Lourmarin. Bonnieux est un ancien village fortifié et fût habité dès l’époque néolithique ainsi qu’à l’âge du bronze.

  • LES OCRES DE ROUSSILLON : les anciennes carrières à ciel ouvert créent des paysages d’une beauté discrète et singulière. A voir absolument, le Petit Colorado à Rustrel, magnifique ensemble de cheminées de fées, canyons et défilés taillés par les hommes et par la nature. Voir également les mines à Gargas.

Les Carrières d'ocre

Et beaucoup d’autres sites que nous vous laissons le soin de découvrir. Et si vous souhaitez connaître l’ambiance d’un vrai marché de Provence, rendez-vous au grand marché d’APT qui se tient tous les samedis matin.

RÉSERVEZ ICI